Beauty

Lip Lock: My Most Commonly Used Lip Products

Hello everyone!! Lately, I’ve been taking extra care to make sure that my lips are cared for. I’m the type of person who always has chapped lips, and it has been one of my biggest frustrations. I’m also pale af, and not in the my-skin-is-fair-and-clear way but in the i-just-lost-a-lot-of-blood way which is why I figured I need to put in extra effort to make my lips look soft and moisturized like those of the girls in promotional shoots for lip tints. Today, I’ll be showing you guys some of my commonly used lip products and why I reach for them all the time.

Products Listed:

Carmex Classic Moisturizing Lip Balm

L’oreal Tint Caresse Powder Lipstick

The Face Shop My Lips Eat Cherry Aqua Tint

Etude House Woo Baby Plumping Tint

Carmex Classic Moisturizing Lip Balm

I cannot stress enough the importance of having good lip balm. I’ve tried a number of different lip balms ranging from (the absolutely horrible) eos to (the pretty good) Chapstick to a bunch of other lip balms I’ve already forgotten about. I go through lip balm aggressively because I apply it way too many times a day, and I’m rather picky with it too. My lip balm love story is a rather long one with lots of mistakes and let-downs, but I think I’ve finally found the one. I used to use Chapstick religiously until I just grew out of it and moved on to Baby Lips, which to be honest wasn’t even as good. Not long after, I was charmed by all the eos hype and used it for the longest time before realizing that it was actually the one causing all of my problems. My lips were chapped, painful, and reddened, and only when I accepted that eos wasn’t the one for me did my lips start to recover. After that, I vowed to treat my lips better and purchased Burt’s Bees lip balm, but I found it too expensive (the one I bought at least) and all together ineffective. I went back to Chapstick, and it wasn’t perfect, but it was alright; however, I decided to try something new after finishing that tube in like two months. 

I’ve been hearing about Carmex for a while now but only recently gave it a try. I believe this actually comes in three types of packaging: pots, tubes, and squeeze tubes. Although I dislike the scent of Carmex, it feels great on my lips, is a decent price, and moisturizes like no other. Some of my friends also like the scent, so I guess it’s completely subjective. The only other thing I dislike about this aside from the scent is that when the lid is closed, it’s doesn’t have equal space between the lid and the pot in certain areas if you look closely. That doesn’t affect the efficacy of the packaging, it’s just rather irritating to look at for too long. 

L’oreal Tint Caresse Powder Lipstick

I’m quite unsure if I like the packaging or not because on one hand, it’s sleek, easy to carry around, and effectively seals in moisture for the product, but on the other, it feels cheap when you hold it, and the metallic plating begins to chip off after a while. The product itself though I just love love love! I prefer glossy looks, to be honest, but this one delivers a nice matte finish without drying, flaking, or settling into the lines of your lips. The color is pigmented, and the applicator is convenient for both ombre and solid looks. If you want to go for a more natural vibe, you could easily dab the applicator with your finger then use that to apply to your lips. The finish is natural, and perfectly pretty.

Swatch of Plum Blossom

The shade I have is Plum Blossom (B08), but there are multiple other shades listed above. I personally liked Rose Blossom (B06) when I swatched it as well.

The Face Shop My Lips Eat Cherry Aqua Tint

This product is probably one of the most basic tints out there, but it’s a classic for a reason. I love watery tints, although I know some people would differ, and this one has great formulation, not overly watery but obviously water-based. The packaging is simple and convenient. This tint isn’t amazing, but I think it’s remained for so long because the colors are so pretty, and it isn’t intimidating if you’re new to lip tints. To be honest, this washes off really easily, tastes horrible, and tends to cling to the inner side of your lips because it absorbs so quickly, making it look patchy, and yet for some reason, I keep using it. Maybe it’s the scent or the color, or the fact that even when it gets patchy, it still looks really pretty, but I’m still sticking with it until I find one that delivers a better look.

Swatch of 02 Juicy Red


I have never tried the other shades, so I can’t speak for how they look, but I honestly love the shade I have, and it’s the most used lip tint I have.

Etude House Woo Baby Plumping Tint

Save the best for last, am I right? I didn’t expect to love this so much, and I would have never given this a second glance if it hadn’t been gifted to us. Some people may dislike this because of the sticky feeling it gives, but I think that I could live with that with a product this good. As a lip tint alone, this really isn’t much. It’ll look great at the start then slowly fade, so I don’t use it as a lip tint at all but as a gloss. My lips dry out really easily, so matte lips are always a problem, but I find that if I’m having a lip look tragedy, especially if the lip product is settling into my lines (so not cute), a swipe of this will always have my lips looking fresh and moisturized again. The gloss and plumping effect can be a little intense, so I like applying this in the center of my lips, spreading it out, then adding gloss as I deem necessary. I also love the minty feeling it gives when you first apply it because it makes the sticky feeling a lot less gross and instantly wakes you up. It is a little tinted, but I don’t find it to be obvious when layered over a different color. I cannot tell you how many times this lip tint has saved my life (or at least my lips). I’ve had many a lip look salvaged and enhanced because of this baby, and I will not trade it for the world. 

Swatch of 01 Volume Up Red
01 Volume Up Red
02 Volume Up Pink

Through all of my lip product hardships, the greatest thing I’ve learned is that finding the right product is much like finding love. Whether it’s a tint, a gloss, or a balm, you have to be careful with which you choose to lock lips. There are products that bring out the best in you, and there are those that do you no good, so your journey may be rough, but in the end, you’ll find the one, and you’ll find yourself sealing it with a kiss, everyday. ❤

Leave a comment