Beauty · Beauty Tips

How to Mattify Your Oily Skin

When it comes to makeup, us oily-skinned individuals are always struggling. There’s a constant struggle between looking matte or looking powdery, and oftentimes, we end up just looking like a melted mess. Looking matte all day is something so elusive that it almost seems fantastical to us, but in the recent months, I’ve managed to get a decent routine going to finally keep myself matte pretty much all day.

As with all things makeup-related, this starts with skincare. 


My morning skincare routine is leagues shorter than my nighttime routine, and I find that that helps your skincare and makeup settle better, so you can be relatively shine-free. I know it seems tempting to just skip the skincare all together, but trust me when I say your skin will thank you if you stick with this. The key is to keep your morning routine simple but effective; there’s no need for anything fancy. You only need the three basics: toner, moisturizer, and sunscreen. 

Tony Moly Goat Milk Whitening Toner


This just happens to be the toner I’m using at the moment, but honestly, nearly any toner will do. You should pick your toner out with your skin type and various skin ailments in mind because it won’t matter much in terms of the look of your makeup. What you definitely shouldn’t do though is pick an alcohol-based toner that will dry out your skin because it’ll make your oil glands overcompensate and produce more oil, and it will not look pretty. Also, don’t skip toner!! It balances the pH level of your skin and basically prepares it for the next steps of your skincare routine and your makeup as well.


Just use a cotton pad and gently swipe it over your entire face. Wait for it to dry and settle into your skin (which will take, like, seconds) before you move on.

The Face Shop 99% Fresh Jeju Aloe Soothing Gel


One of my favorite products!! I use this as a moisturizer instead of a soothing gel, and it’s absolutely perfect for me. It absorbs so well into your skin that it doesn’t leave any residue which is essential to making sure that your makeup doesn’t look tacky. It also soothes any irritation on your skin (so if you have acne like me *wink wink* or if you have sensitive skin then it’s perfect!) Also, as much as we want to look matte, we also want to preserve our natural glow, and this will help you achieve just that. 


Don’t be afraid to layer this particular product on. If you’re using a different moisturizer, you may have to be more careful, but with this, there’s no way you can go overboard. Depending on the thickness of your application, this dries in about a minute or two, so it’s quick and incredibly worth it.

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry Touch Broad Spectrum Sunscreen


No matter what your skin type is or whatever your skin concerns are, you have to use sunscreen. Above looking good or getting that perfect makeup look, protection from the sun is the most important thing. It’s a long-term investment, and you’ll reap the benefits when you find yourself free from skin cancer, sunspots, or wrinkles years from now. 


This particular sunscreen is perfect because it’s lightweight, fast absorbing, and water resistant. I also find that it doesn’t give you a white cast as long as you don’t apply too much. With this, you have to keep your layers thin and light, but make sure to spread it across your entire face. Let this set for around five minutes because it is a little heavier than the others.

Time for the makeup!

Peripera Milk Blur Primer in Peach

The banana primer from the same line might actually be a better choice for oily skin, but this works just fine for me. You don’t have to use this particular primer, especially since this doesn’t really mattify. My problem with most mattifying primers is that they seem to tamp on your radiant glow and make you look dull aside from mattifying. This does a good job of controlling your oils while brightening your skin. 🙂


Don’t laugh at me, but this is how I make sure my primer is even. I dot it first on both cheeks then the forehead, nose, chin, and both sides of the philtrum. After that just spread it evenly and wait for it to settle.


Please ignore my textured skin! Anyway, at this point, your skin will still be pretty shiny, but the next step will remedy that.

Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3in1 Foundation


I only bought this foundation recently, but I’m kind of in love with it. I’m not sure if this melted in the heat, but the consistency isn’t all that thick, so it feels light on your skin while still covering up your blemishes. In fact, this foundation promises to act as a primer, concealer, and foundation in one, and it’s buildable too, so if you need more coverage, it won’t be a problem. It really does keep your skin in check, so you look pretty good all day.


Okay, this is really funny-looking, even I laughed at myself, but this allows you to make the most of your foundation, and it makes sure that your coverage is good, but your foundation looks natural. One pump at the back of your hand is enough to do this for your entire face, so A++ for that. 


I blend it all in with a little makeup sponge. I think it gives off a more airbrushed effect than your fingers, but I think a brush would work too. 


This is already a lot more matter than earlier, and you can tell it has pretty good coverage without emphasizing any texture. 

Tony Moly Cat’s Wink Powder


To seal it all in, just use any powder you have. It’s not that important what type; you can use a pressed powder or a loose powder. I don’t happen to have any loose powders, mostly because I think pressed powders are a lot more convenient. What I do is I take a good brush and swirl it in the powder, picking up excessive product then cake it over my T-zone and under my eyes/on the apples of my cheeks/where I tend to shine. Since I’m impatient, I only leave it there for like two minutes before I brush it away and spread it over the rest of my face.


And we’re done!! Go do the rest of your makeup without worries because your skin is all set! ❤️


Here’s the look that I did with it 💕

7 thoughts on “How to Mattify Your Oily Skin

Leave a Reply

