Beauty · Reviews

Review // Allure Cosmetics (Satin Lipsticks & Matte Liquid Lipsticks)

Disclaimer: These products were sent to us by @allurecosmetics_sg on Instagram in exchange for an honest review.

Allure Cosmetics is an original cosmetics brand based in Singapore aimed to deliver high quality but affordable products for different kinds of women. The company has only been established this year but is already quickly expanding into the Philippines.

Product Details: 

What: Allure Cosmetics Satin Lipstick in the shade Rose and Tulip; Matte Liquid Lipstick in the shade Fantasia

Amount: 3.8g (satin lipstick); 4.5g (liquid lipstick)

Ingredients: Ricinus Communis Seed Oil, Ethylexyl, Palmitate, Cera Alba, Copernica Cerifera Cera, SIlica, Candelilla Cera, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Kaolin, Orbignya Oleifera Seed Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Vitis Vinifera Seed Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Yellow 5 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Red 6, Red 28 Lake, Red 7 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Iron Oxide Black, Perfume (satin lipstick); Dimethicone, Bismuth Oxychloride, Boron Nitide, Tocopherol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl, Glycol, Tropolone, Titanium Dioxide, Pigment (liquid lipstick)

Where to buy: You can easily purchase these at @allurecosmetics_sg on Instagram! 🙂

Price: Satin lipsticks are priced at P520 while liquid lipsticks are priced at P750 (But if you buy now, they are having a buy 1 matte liquid and get 1 free satin sale!)

Packaging:

The secondary packaging is a rectangular black box embellished with the brand name Allure Cosmetics in gold text.  It’s sleek and very minimalist. I like the colors chosen (black and gold) because they give off a very sophisticated and elegant vibe. The ingredients of the product are also listed behind the box.

 

The primary packaging for the satin lipsticks is a black square tube with a clear glass at the bottom to display the end of the stick, so you can easily identify the shade without removing the lid. The tube also has the word Allure printed in gold text. I really like the glass bottom because this lets you instantly know what shade you’re going for without having to squint to look at the label or open each lipstick one by one.

The liquid lipstick on the other hand uses a standard liquid lipstick packaging — a clear tube for shade reference, a doe foot applicator, and the name of shade printed at the bottom.

I did not encounter any problems with the packaging as they are very classic, practical, and convenient to use.

Texture: 

Top to Bottom: Rose, Tulip

The satin lipsticks are very creamy and they give a very smooth, satin and rich finish. I really liked how they felt on my lips as I found them very comfortable and really moisturizing.

Top to bottom:  Fantasia (before it dried), Rose, Tulip

For the liquid lipsticks, the packaging does not indicate what they are, but I quickly assumed them to be matte since usually liquid lipsticks are known for that kind of finish. However, when I tried applying it on my lips, I became confused because they felt too sticky to be matte. With that, I came to the conclusion that it might be gloss instead — although that was short-lived because I realized that the formula is also not shiny enough to be gloss. After a few seconds though, the lipstick dried, and settled into a wonderful powdery matte finish. I wasn’t too keen about the initial stickiness of the formula, but I give props to the matte finish and how long lasting the lipstick is. I swear, it really took me some time to get it off my lips. My only issue about it would be its drying effect, which is something I should probably get used to with matte liquid lipsticks, although I found this a bit more drying compared to others I’ve tried.

Application: The satin lipsticks are highly pigmented and you honestly need just one swipe on your lips to get a lot of color. If you find that even with one swipe it already looks a bit over the top, you can just blot it using tissue, and it could also give a sort of matte effect after.

Rose is a rich red shade, while Tulip is a soft pink. I find Rose to be much more wearable compared to Tulip, mainly because everyone needs a classic red lipstick, while on the other hand, not anyone can pull of pink lipstick especially if it’s a bit light.


Photo taken from @allurecosmetics_sg IG account 

For the liquid lipstick, the applicator is able to dispense a good amount of product onto your lips, so there’s really no need to have several coatings. Like I mentioned above, the formula is initially sticky, so it’s best to just have one swipe, or else you’d keep accidentally brushing away the product, which is very annoying. After putting the product on your lips, you need to wait a few seconds for it to dry, until it finally settles into a matte finish.


Photo taken from @allurecosmetics_sg IG account 

The shade Fantasia is a purple, light plum shade. The shade is a bit dark before it dries, but becomes lighter when it becomes matte. I wouldn’t consider this shade too bold, but I also wouldn’t consider it very wearable for an average person. It looks decent enough on me, but it would vary depending on people’s skin tone. In my case, I feel like this kind of lipstick shade does not match my personality so I’d probably only wear it occasionally, even if it looks okay.

Value for Money: The prices are at par with usual lipstick prices from average cosmetic brands. They are not so expensive but also not too cheap like drugstore makeup. For the satin lipsticks, I think they are able to deliver quality fit for its price. Liquid lipsticks are generally more expensive to make, so I would say that the price is definitely fit for the amount of product we get.

Verdict: I LOVE how pigmented all their lipsticks are. The satin lipsticks are really worth a try. Both shades are really nice, and I’d really love to check out the other shades next time. The liquid lipstick, on the other hand, is very long lasting and pigmented as well, but can be a bit more drying than other matte liquid lipsticks. (It’s probably just my personal preference because I’m really not much of a fan of matte lippies.) All in all, though, I think these lipsticks are all worth a try and would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for good quality and affordable lipsticks. 🙂

Thank you @allurecosmetics_sg for sending us these! Much love! xx

kimisiggie

2 thoughts on “Review // Allure Cosmetics (Satin Lipsticks & Matte Liquid Lipsticks)

Leave a Reply

