Beauty · Reviews

Review // Cleopatra’s Secret Natural Skincare (Micro Exfoliating Rose & Milk Soap, Sensitive Skin Facial Cleanser, Makeup Detox Face Mask)

Disclaimer: These products were sent to us by @cleopatrassecretph on Instagram in exchange for an honest review.


Cleopatra’s Secret Natural Skincare is a local Filipino-owned natural skincare brand based in the Philippines that was founded by Katrina Monares last 2016. They sell skincare items made of all natural ingredients that are inspired by the beauty regimen and rituals of Cleopatra, the last pharaoh of Egypt.

First off, before I go straight into this review, I just want to talk about how much I LOVE the concept of this brand. I find it very unique that they incorporated elements from history and took inspiration from one of the most lavish and luxurious figures of the world in conceptualizing their brand. It really speaks well of the kind of vision and image they wish to project and I feel as if they were able to give off that vibe perfectly.

The brand is focused on the following:

  • Skin whitening that focuses on lightening dark spots
  • Enzymatic exfoliation for glowing and more vibrant skin
  • Antioxidant & vitamin boost to bring back life to skin

They sent me 3 items to try and review, which are: Micro Exfoliating Rose & Milk Soap, Sensitive Skin Facial Cleanser, and Makeup Detox Face Mask. I’ll be going through each item and run through the ingredients and my thoughts about it.

 

  1. MICRO EXFOLIATING ROSE & MILK SOAP (P150)

This soap is made of 100% natural ingredients composed of rosewater, goat’s milk, raw shea butter, vanilla butter and extra virgin olive oil. Rosewater is an ingredient that has anti-inflammatory properties, goat’s milk contains vitamin A which is the most important vitamin for the skin, shea butter has healing properties which make it great for treating blemishes, wrinkles and more, vanilla butter works well to restore and rehydrate skin, and lastly extra virgin olive oil provides moisture and shields your skin from sun exposure damage. With these awesome natural ingredients, I just knew that I was in good hands with this soap.

Upon using the soap, I really liked how creamy it felt on my skin. Most drugstore soaps I’ve used are very drying, but I had no problem at all with this one. It lathered pretty well, and glided smoothly on my skin. After each use, I felt that my skin became smoother, softer, and healthier. I also like the smell since it’s very light and never harsh. It’s a subtle all-natural smell of what the ingredients really smell like, with no added fragrances, which I like a lot. I can’t say much about its lightening properties, but I’m certain of how soft it made my skin feel like after a week of usage.

The only drawback I had with this product is how fast it melted. I was only able to use it for a week (twice daily) and the whole bar dissolved so quickly. I’m not sure if there are any miraculous effects this soap can do since I was only able to use it for a week. However, I can vouch for the fact that it’s been doing good things to my skin, and I haven’t had any breakouts with this product.

 

2. SENSITIVE SKIN FACIAL CLEANSER (P165)

This product’s ingredients are composed of Sweet Almond Oil, Rice Bran Oil, Rosehip Oil, Argan Oil, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Aloe Vera, Green Tea Extract, Cucumber Extract, Seaweed Extract, Witch hazel Extract. All of these ingredients are known for treating sensitive skin, especially acne prone ones. They’re also great at helping increase skin moisture and feeding your skin with vitamins and minerals.

I have fragile and sensitive skin so I was at first quite hesitant to use this product because I tend to get breakouts when I deviate from my usual skincare routine. But after checking out the ingredients, I felt more at ease with the product.

The formula has a watery consistency and is a bit yellowish brown in color. At first I didn’t think it would form suds, but when I pumped out the product on my hand, it appeared in bubbles. However, when I lathered it on my face, it was still watery, so I got confused at first with the product. The more I used it I realized that it really won’t lather much no matter how much you put on your face or how much you rub it.

The product has no noticeable scent since it’s fragrant free. It just smells like a mixture of all the herbs and ingredients it’s made of. In terms of the product’s performance, at first I didn’t know if it was able to clean my face because of the very watery consistency. I’m usually more into facial foam washes. But after getting used to the product and using it for a whole week straight, I realized that it’s been able to make my skin look brighter. It’s not drying at all and is able to keep the usual moisture and softness of my skin. It hasn’t done anything bad on my skin and it’s been able to maintain and improve my skin’s appearance and pores.

This product is a very mild cleanser, so I’m not sure how it would work for people who truly have damaged and sensitive skin and need to use it as treatment. It’s great at maintenance though.

3. MAKEUP DETOX FACE MASK (P165)

Using makeup everyday could sometimes be bad for the skin, because you never let it breathe. Your skin could look paler and get damaged with the lack of minerals in the skin. This detox face mask could address these problems and it promises to remove dirt, oil and debris from your pores, replenish minerals to give your skin life, and lastly soothe irritated skin.

I personally haven’t had any problems with my skin because I have a very tight skincare regimen and make sure to always remove my makeup properly. However, after using this detox mask, my skin felt tighter and clearer right after. I feel like my skin has gotten a lot smoother and healthier after using this detox mask, and it’s carried over until the next day.

It’s best to use this product for 3 days straight for the best results, then just once a week for maintenance after.

 

Packaging: Overall, I found the packaging to be just okay. It’s very functional and easy to use, and has a design that goes in line with the branding. The packaging clearly details the ingredients of the products and how to use it. I would just recommend to improve on the quality of the paper used so that it doesn’t tear off easily or get wet.
Value for Money: The prices of the products are very affordable, and it says a lot since the brand uses a lot of natural ingredients that are not that easy to find. For a local brand, I would say the prices are at par with its competitors, but in comparison to more expensive all-natural skincare brands, these products are very very cheap.
Verdict: All the products I tried and reviewed were okay. I had no problems with any of them. They were able to give a good effect on my skin and deliver on their promises. Nothing miraculous happened but they did their work well. Out of all the products, the detox face mask had the biggest effect, while the others only slightly improved my skin’s quality and worked well just for the fact that it didn’t cause me to have any breakouts.

I would recommend this brand for anyone who’s looking for less expensive all-natural brands, and would love to support local businesses.

If you want to know more about Cleopatra’s Secret Natural Skincare, you can check them out at the following:

IG: @cleopatrassecretph

FB: https://www.facebook.com/cleopatrassecretph/

Website: cleopatrassecretskincare.com

Thank you again @cleopatrassecretph for sending us these! Much love! xx

kimisiggie

2 thoughts on “Review // Cleopatra’s Secret Natural Skincare (Micro Exfoliating Rose & Milk Soap, Sensitive Skin Facial Cleanser, Makeup Detox Face Mask)

Leave a Reply

