Beauty · Beauty Tips · Uncategorized

Kimi’s Skincare Routine // 10 Step Korean Skincare Guide

A lot of my friends and family have been asking me recently about my skincare secrets. So, finally, I think I’m ready to spill the juice!

Confession: I used to have really bad skin and horrible breakouts about a year ago — partly because of my bad and unhealthy lifestyle, but also mostly because I didn’t put much effort into taking care of my skin. When I finally finished school and had the time to actually reflect on my life, my bad skin was my first priority.

My secret? It’s really easy. I just tried the 10 Step Korean Skincare that everyone’s been talking about.

I’ve heard so many things about this routine, but it was only late last year that I finally put my foot down and decided to try it out myself. I’ve experimented with some products over the past few months until I’ve finally settled into my current routine with the ones that work perfectly for me! I don’t really stick to any specific brands, nor do I only use Korean brands. I’ve used all sorts of brands and products, and it just depends on your skin really to find out which one works best. So today, I’ll be listing down all the products I use everyday.

2Facial Wash: B-Lab Natural Cleansing Foam (I Am Sorry Just Cleansing); Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective White Purifying Foam Cleanser; Dewytree Phyto Therapy Blueberry Foam | I use these facial washes interchangeably depending on my mood. If I feel like I’d need something stronger to wash my face with, I’d go with the Kiehl’s facial wash.

3

Wash off Masks: Kiehl’s Turmeric & Cranberry Seed Energizing Radiance Mask; Boscia Charcoal Pore Pudding | I only use wash off masks occasionally, about once a week or every other week if I’m busy. The Kiehl’s mask is for mornings, and I typically use the Boscia one at night.


Toner | Toner is really important because you need this to prep your skin for all the other skin products you’ll be putting on your face. I can’t proceed with the next steps if I don’t do this first!

Exfoliator (2 times a week): Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective White Skin Brightening Exfoliator
| Exfoliating is a crucial part of the whole process, to get rid of dead skin for a brighter and more polished look. ❤

 

1Essence: Kiehl’s Iris Extract Activating Treatment Essence | This is probably my favorite product because it just feels so good putting it on my skin. It’s kind of like a toner and a serum and is used to hydrate skin and help repair damage.

OilsKiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate; Kiehl’s Daily Reviving Concentrate | I swear by these products because they really work like magic. Whenever I feel haggard or tired, I just use the Midnight Recovery Concentrate (for night) and the Daily Reviving Concentrate (for mornings) and my skin just feels restored.

 

4Serum & Emulsion: The Face Shop YEHWADAM Revitalizing Serum; The Face Shop YEHWADAM Revitalizing Emulsion | I really love The Face Shop’s Yehwadam line; but I think these two products are my favorite! Serums and emulsions are used as a skin-perfecting step, to address pore-refining, wrinkles, acne — you name it.

 

6Sheet Masks: I don’t really have a particular sheet mask  brand that I use all the time. I try all sorts of brands and products, and experiment a lot. I’ve used Missha, Etude House, The Face Shop, and a lot more.

 

7

Eye Cream: Laneige Perfect Renew Eye Cream | This is the latest addition to my skincare routine. I only found out recently that the skin under your eyes are the most delicate part of your face and that it’s important to start early with eye cream to avoid eye wrinkles.

Moisturizer: Shiseido Ibuki Refining Moisturizer | I can’t live without moisturizing and Shiseido’s Ibuki line is definitely the best one I’ve used that’s given me a dewy glowing skin. This is the last step of the routine usually, but in the mornings, you can opt to use sunscreen, which is also very important.

 

5Treatments: Erythromycin Lotion; MIZON Acence Mark X Blemish After Cream | I use these two products whenever I have pimple breakouts. I use the Erythromycin Lotion to dry out new breakouts, while the Mizon Blemish After Cream for erupted pimples, as a way to heal acne blemishes.
Although this whole routine takes a lot of time, I still can’t believe the wonderful effect this has done to my skin. It’s really worth it, I swear. I’ve honestly been getting a lot of compliments lately from family and friends of how much my skin has improved and cleared up.

And apart from that, there’s also a great inner healing that I’ve felt ever since I started this routine. I’ve realized how relaxing doing each step has been for me this whole time. The whole process of doing this actually gives me a chance to reflect on myself everyday, and I honestly feel so at peace every time I finish it. Trust me, the better your skin is, the better you’ll feel about yourself as well. I just feel so happy and reassured about myself, and I really feel like I’m blooming. Lol 😂

Of course, my skin’s not perfect yet. I still get pimples (SOMETIMES) but I find that they heal super quickly. I get texture too or some dark spots, but it can be overlooked and has improved so much already. Also, I noticed that even if I stay up late or go out in the sun for a long time, my skin doesn’t get damaged or get any worse. I feel that I’ve taken care of my skin pretty well so far, and I really hope I can see more improvements as the year unfolds.

Here’s to a clearer and healthier skin this 2017!

kimisiggie

2 thoughts on “Kimi’s Skincare Routine // 10 Step Korean Skincare Guide

Leave a Reply

