Food & Places

Delicious Days // Fat Fook Review

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Exterior View
Fat Fook is located in SM City North Edsa. Beryl and I were looking for a place to eat after a particularly long bout of window-shopping, and we really weren’t planning on eating here at all. I stopped my sister from walking past because I just had to send my friends snaps of how the name of this restaurant perfectly embodied who they were: a “fat fook”. Of course, this was done with love and a mandatory “jk” and laughing emoji. I did think that aside from the name, this restaurant was pretty promising, so we went in and gave it a try.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Look how full the place is!
We got there at rush hour exactly, so it’s no wonder that the place was quite full, but luckily, we didn’t have to wait to be seated. I have to say that the seats we got weren’t all that comfortable, but there are other, nicer seats with actual backrests and even couches. We couldn’t really be choosy though with all these people around.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Love how you can see them make the food through the windows!
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Absolutely in love with this decor ❀
I didn’t notice until my sister pointed it out, but the lights are actually adorned with Chinese porceain, and if that’s not charming, I don’t know what is. You can also see the chefs making the food through glass windows, and the entire place is just so aesthetic.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I absolutely love Taiwanese food, so upon opening the menu, I was really struggling to pick what I wanted. They have loads of food under categories like appetizers, dimsum, rice & topping, fried noodles, noodles & soup, pork, chicken, beef, seafood, vegetables, congee, and dessert & drinks. The service wasn’t fantastic, but I think that has a lot to do with how many people there were and how they didn’t seem to have enough servers. Even so, the staff was nice and very polite. I eventually ordered something from the rice & topping category, which is featured in the picture below.

img_9806
Can’t remember the name omg
This dish was absolutely delicious, and although I really only like scrambled eggs, this one was really good, heavenly even. There wasn’t that much meat (which I should have expected), so if you’re ordering this, you should definitely order other dishes as well. The bowl looked really small when they served it to me, but I realized that it was pretty deep which means there’s really more rice than you initially think there is.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Chicken Chops
I believe this is one of their bestsellers or highlighted dishes. I was expecting the chicken to be a bit dry, but it was juicy and flavorful! I think this particular dish would be worth your money. It’s not served with rice though, so you’ll still have to order that.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Cuapao
Call me weird, but I really only like eating the bun, or as we call it, the “mantou”. Even so, this cuapao was pretty good, and I’m not crazy about it, but my dad claims it’s his new favorite.

All in All:

Type: Taiwanese cuisine

Price: approx. PHP 150-420

Desserts for PHP 58-298

Lots of people especially during lunch time

Service isn’t fantastic because there’s so many people

Portions aren’t huge, but food tastes good

Aesthetic and design on point

img_9099-1

Leave a Reply

