Beauty · Reviews

Review // Etude House Rosy Tint Lips


My search for the perfect lip tint seems to be never-ending. I am still looking for a product that gives you the soft, natural, glow lip tints should give. As someone who generally likes Etude House products, I have to say that this one left me rather underwhelmed, but before we go into that, let me give you a brief description of the product, so you can understand my expectations a bit more.

Product Details:

What: Etude House Rosy Tint Lips

Delicate and soft texture with enriched rosy color.

Velvet type lips to express attractive colors.

Where to Buy: Etude House has many branches in the Philippines. Locations include SM Megamall, SM Mall of Asia, and Glorietta 3. Here’s a full list of stores in the Philippines. Stores can be found worldwide, and products can also be bought online.

How Much: (approx.) PHP 560.00

Shades Available: There are 8 shades: Before Blossom, Sunny Flower, Rose Petal, Sweet Poison, Baby Peony, English Garden, Tea Rose, After Blossom

Story: I celebrated my birthday around a month ago, and all my friends know I’m crazy about cosmetics. This was gifted to me by one of my close friends. I got really excited when I saw it because lip tints are bae, and I’m always trying out new ones. From what I’ve heard, this would be a matte lip tint which you don’t typically see, and this promised a delicate and natural rosy look which I’m down for any day!

Packaging: To be quite honest, I’m not a big fan of the packaging. In appearance, it is rather beautiful, and the box does not fall short of the Etude House aesthetic, but I had issues with the tube itself. When I squeezed it the first time, I was surprised at how tightly I could squeeze it without having any product come up which makes me wonder just how much product is in there. That, of course, also makes it hard to push the product out and adds on to the stress of application.


Texture: The texture of the product itself is actually quite good. It spreads easily, and the colors are very wearable unlike a lot of Korean lip tints out there. The shade shown in the picture above is After Blossom. The first time I swatched it, I was alarmed at how bright and how red it was, but when it’s on your lips, it’s actually much more toned down and definitely a lot more manageable. I think this particular shade is good for those who want to go for a red lip with no prior experience and want something that they can’t really mess up. I feel as though it dries out the lips a little, but that is to be expected since the product is matte. It does a pretty good job of minimizing the drying feeling you get from using matte products, so that’s a plus from my point of view.

Scent: There was no obvious or discernible scent.


Application: To apply, I suggest that you place a small amount on the back of your hand which helps you moderate how much lip tint you’re using. I use my finger to apply it on the center of my lips (if I want an ombre look) then use the tip to spread it outwards. It’s pretty simple, but I do recommend doing this in front of a mirror so you can really see how the look is turning out.

My main problem with the lip tint is that it doesn’t only fade, it also fades patchy and settles into your lines. That’s a huge problem since it’s typically a little harder to use a lip tint already because of having to blend the color and having to make it look a little more natural. It isn’t like lipsticks where one swipe is all that’s required to complete the look. With this, I find that a couple of hours in, it already settles into the lines of my lips, and I have to apply a lip gloss on top just to maintain the look of hydration which defeats the entire matte look. It doesn’t fade that quickly, but when it does, it’s almost impossible to reapply. The patchiness is much harder to even out than you think, and applying a new coat only exacerbates the problem.

Verdict: With all the wonderful lip tints out there, I think it would be fine pass this one up. Although the color is beautiful, and the concept is interesting, it simply has too many complications to be considered a convenient product. I will still use this product, but maybe restrict it to short outings.

If you do have this product and experience the same things, try putting on a good amount of lip balm beforehand, and if the look is getting too dry, just place your shiniest, more hydrated-looking lip gloss on. I’m sure you’ll still look amazing. 🙂 I’m lowkey hoping they release the shades but in a glossy form with better packaging; I’d buy that for sure!

All in all, this is great for those who want to try more manageable lip tint colors and aren’t very fond of the glossy look; however its packaging could be greatly improved and something should be done about the settling and patchiness of this product.

Rating: 5/10 Not that great, but I’d still be happy to use it!

Tell me your thoughts on this product! Any lip tints you’re loving? Feel free to tell us about them! 🙂

img_9099-1

Leave a Reply

