Beauty · Reviews

Review // Laneige Two Tone Lip Bar

I really admire Korean cosmetics because of how creative and innovative they are. It’s something that I have come to appreciate even more when I got struck by the Hallyu (Korean) wave, and became obsessed with anything Korean. So for my first review, I thought it would be apt to talk about a product that came from this beautiful country (and it’s also my absolute favorite lipstick right now hehe). This is a lipstick that I have been carrying around my purse for the past few weeks, and I just can’t get enough of it!

detail_1

Isn’t Lee Sung Kyung just gorgeous?

Although a bit difficult to apply seamlessly, Laneige’s Two Tone Lip Bar has become my go-to product whenever I need to add a pop to my look.

Product details:

What: Laneige Two Tone Lip Bar

Two-tone lip bar for the perfect ombre makeup look

Where to Buy:  Laneige has stores at Robinsons Galleria, Robinsons Place Ermita, Robinsons Magnolia, SM Aura Premier, SM Megamall, SM Mall of Asia, Trinoma

How Much: P1200

Shades Available: Magenta Muse, Red Blossom, Pink Salmon, Milk Blurring, Daring Darling, Pink Step, Juicy Pop, Maxi Red, Orange Blurring, Dear Pink

laneige-two-tone-colors2

screen-shot-2016-07-22-at-18-03-08

Aren’t they all pretty?! My personal favorites would be Daring Darling and Juicy Pop!

Image result for weightlifting fairy kim bok joo laneige lipstickStory: Do you like Messi? Haha so yes, I was also watching Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo like the rest of you. When I saw her use this lipstick on the show, I immediately fell in love with it and just had to have it. I mentioned it to my sister and a few days later, she had gotten it for me as a gift (teehee).

 

Packaging: The packaging is a classic white rectangular plastic with a lever on the side that you need to push down for the lipstick to go up. I really like it because of its very minimalist and clean look, but I don’t think it’s very functional or practical, because if not done properly, you might break the pretty fragile thing. So please be careful when you first open it, and make sure to remove the cap first before pushing down the lever– or else your lipstick might break before you’ve even used it.

two-tone-lip-bar_sizzle07

Texture: I really like it because of its soft and creamy formula, and it’s very comfortable and easy on the lips. It’s also long lasting because I can have it on the whole day; and although throughout time the gradient look fades and blends to make it look just like one color (of course, retouching is a must), it still looks more than decent enough.

Scent: It smells kind of like candy and fruits, which is nice.

Application: This part is tricky because unlike usual lipstick, it’s got two shades so you need to apply carefully in order to get that gradient effect. First, apply to your lower lip the normal way. This is so that the darker color is inside the lip while the lighter shade is outside. Then turn the lipstick upside down and apply to your top lip. Lastly, pucker up your lips and smile!

laneige.jpg

Note: I think it’s best to apply about 2 coatings to make it look perfect and to capture the gradient effect more. It makes the whole color and effect shine more for me!

Verdict: Looking Korean is a trend nowadays, and a trend that I am also riding on (LOL). So I really love this lipstick because it makes my lips have that sweet gradient color that looks so naturally pretty. And of course, what’s even more important is that I like the texture a lot — where do I even begin with how much I hate those matte liquid lipsticks that feel more like cement? In any case, this is a lipstick that feels and looks good on my lips, which is YAY!

However, since it is a bit difficult to apply, I wouldn’t exactly recommend this type of lipstick if you’re someone who’s always on the go and have to apply lipstick whenever, wherever.  In order to apply it perfectly on your lips, you should always use a mirror so that your lips don’t end up with a really weird mess of colors that is so not gradient at all! And the gradient effect is what sets this lipstick apart from the others, so that’s really besides the point, right?

All in all, this. lipstick. is. THE BOMB. And that’s not only because of how it makes my lips pretty, but because it also makes me feel pretty, and I think that’s the most important thing about using make-up. 🙂

try

Me in No. 5 Daring Darling. Huhu I tried guys. I’ll post swatches and more pictures once I get all the shades!

Rating: 10/10 LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!

I hope you guys love this lipstick as much as I do! Hit me up on the comments if you have any questions.

(Photo Credits: Laneige website)

kimisiggie

 

3 thoughts on “Review // Laneige Two Tone Lip Bar

Leave a Reply

